How Lennon compares with former SIU coaches

By Brent Meske, @brentmeskeDE

William McAndrew – First SIU coach

Years: 1913-16, 1921-38

Record: 83-79-20


McAndrew has the most all-time games coached, 182, and wins, 83, at the university. He is sixth all-time with a .511 winning percentage. He coached at SIU for a combined 22 years, more than any other coach. 

Glenn (Abe) Martin – Fourth SIU coach

Years: 1939-49

Record: 31-42-5

Martin led the Salukis to victory in the inaugural Corn Bowl in 1947. SIU beat North Central College 21-0 at Fred Carlton Field in Normal. Martin’s .429 winning percentage is eighth in SIU history. He is one of two coaches to lead SIU for 10 or more years. 

Carmen Piccone – Eighth SIU coach

Years: 1959-63


Record: 28-20

Piccone led SIU to perfect records against Illinois State, Central Michigan and Eastern Michigan — a combined 11-0 — in his tenure. The Dawgs went to the 1960 Illinois Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Championship with a 6-0 record. Piccone has the fourth best all-time winning percentage, .583, at SIU. 

Rey Dempsey – 13th SIU coach

Years: 1976-83

Record: 54-37

The 1983 Salukis went to a National Championship with Dempsey, who was named the Division I-AA Coach of the Year. He, along with Kill, is one of two coaches named to SIU’s All-Century team. He has SIU’s second-best winning percentage of .593 and the third most wins with 54. 

Jerry Kill – 19th SIU coach

Years: 2001-07

Record: 55-32

Kill led the Salukis to three straight Missouri Valley Football Conference Championships and five straight playoff appearances. His Dawgs were No. 1 in the Football Championship Subdivision poll for 10 straight weeks in 2004. Kill won the Eddie Robinson Award for FCS Coach of the Year. He has the best winning percentage at SIU, .632, and the second most wins, 55. 

Dale Lennon – 20th SIU coach

Years: 2008-14

Record: 51-42

Lennon coached the Salukis to back-to-back MVFC Championships and FCS Playoff appearances in his first two years. He was named the AFCA Region IV Coach of the Year as well as MVFC Bruce Craddock Coach of the Year in 2008 and 2009. Lennon is one of six coaches in conference history to win Coach of the Year in back-to-back years. The team won 11 games in 2009, which made Lennon one of three SIU coaches to have 10 or more wins in a season. Lennon finished his career with the second most games coached with 93, fourth most wins with 51 and fourth best winning percentage at .548.