DE Staff

 

 

Postal: SIU Daily Egyptian
Communications Building, Rm. 1259
Carbondale, IL 62901-6887
Phone: (618) 536-3311
Fax: (618) 453-3248
SIUC Mailcode: 6887
Editor-In-Chief: editor@dailyegyptian.com

 

Editors

Tyler Dixon

  • Position: Editor-in-Chief
  • Beats: Men’s Basketball
  • Hometown: Mounds, IL
  • Major: Journalism
  • Personal motto: “Don’t give up, don’t ever give up.” – Jim Valvano
  • Favorite news source: ESPN
  • Twitter handle: @TDixon_DE
  • Email: tdixon@dailyegyptian.com
Sarah Gardner

  • Position: Managing Editor
  • Hometown: Eureka, IL
  • Major: Photojournalism and Photography
  • Personal motto: “It always seems impossible until it is done.” – Nelson Mandela
  • Favorite news source: Seattle Times, Chicago Tribune
  • Twitter handle: @SarahGardnerDE
  • Email: sgardner@dailyegyptian.com
Sarah Schneider

  • Position: Photo and City Editor
  • Hometown: Arcola, IL
  • Major: Journalism
  • Personal motto: “Everyone has a story to tell.”
  • Favorite news source: CNN
  • Twitter handle: @SSchniMedia
  • Email: sschneider@dailyegyptian.com
Seth Richardson

  • Position: Campus Editor
  • Beats: Paul Simon Institute, Dunn-Richmond Center
  • Hometown: Monmouth, IL
  • Major: Journalism and University Studies
  • Personal motto: “The Dude abides.”
  • Favorite news source: The Guardian
  • Twitter handle: @EgyptianRich
  • Email: srichardson@dailyegyptian.com
Karsten Burgstahler

  • Position: E-DE / Pulse Editor
  • Beats: Board of Trustees, Film Criticism
  • Hometown: Decatur, IL
  • Major: Journalism
  • Personal motto: “Always be honest. People will never trust your opinion otherwise.
  • Favorite news source: Entertainment Weekly
  • Twitter handle: @kburgstahler_DE
  • Email: kburgstahler@dailyegyptian.com
Ashley Zborek

  • Position: Opinion Editor
  • Hometown: Lockport, IL
  • Major: Advertising
  • Personal Motto: “Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing about.” – Ben Franklin
  • Favorite news source: Chicago Tribune, Washington Post
  • Twitter handle: @DEOpinion
  • Email: azborek@dailyegyptian.com

Campus Desk

Adie Applegate

  • Position: Campus Reporter
  • Beats: RSO, Alumni Association, Association of Civil Service Employees, Black Resource Center, Foreign Exchange Program, Financial Aid, Public Safety, East Campus, College of Liberal Arts, Law School
  • Hometown: Centralia, IL
  • Major: Journalism
  • Personal motto: “I don’t mind living in a man’s world as long as I can be a woman in it.” – Marilyn Monroe
  • Favorite news source: The Onion
  • Twitter handle: @adisonapple
  • Email: aapplegate@dailyegyptian.com
Luke Nozicka

  • Position: Campus Reporter
  • Beats: Chancellor, Non-Tenure Track Faculty Association, LGBTQ Resource Center, Faculty Senate, ROTC, Greek Life, West Campus, Dining, UCOL, College of Education and Human Services, College of Science
  • Hometown: Chicago, IL
  • Major: Journalism
  • Personal motto: “When you’re sailing a boat built for a Bond villain, you’ve got to play the part.”
  • Favorite news source: Chicago Tribune
  • Twitter handle: @LukeNozicka
  • Email: lnozicka@dailyegyptian.com
Tia Rinehart

  • Position: Campus Reporter and Social Media Editor
  • Beats: GPSC, Marching Band / Saluki Shakers, Recreation Center, Coal Research Center, College of Agricultural Sciences, Theater
  • Hometown: Louisville, IL
  • Major: Journalism
  • Personal motto: “Be impeccable with your word, don’t take anything personally, don’t make assumptions, always do your best.”
  • Favorite news source:
  • Twitter handle: @TiaRinehart_DE
  • Email: trinehart@dailyegyptian.com
Elizabeth Zinchuk

  • Position: Campus Reporter
  • Beats:
  • Hometown: Champaign, IL
  • Major: Journalism
  • Personal motto: “Anything worth doing, is worth doing right.” – Hunter S. Thompson
  • Favorite news source: Huffington Post
  • Twitter handle: @Elizabethz_DE
  • Email: ezinchuk@dailyegyptian.com

Sports Desk

Tyler Davis

  • Position: Sports Reporter
  • Beats: Men’s Golf, Women’s Tennis, Sports Clubs and Intramurals
  • Hometown: Chicago Heights, IL
  • Major: Journalism
  • Personal motto: “Where there’s a will, there’s a way.”
  • Favorite news source: Associated Press
  • Twitter handle:
  • Email: tdavis@dailyegyptian.com
Aaron Graff

  • Position: Sports Reporter
  • Beats: Baseball, Men’s and Women’s Swimmin and Diving, Men’s and Women’s Field
  • Hometown: Braidwood, IL
  • Major: Journalism
  • Personal motto: “Keep on keeping on.”
  • Favorite news source: MLBTradeRumors.com
  • Twitter handle: @AaronGraff_DE
  • Email: agraff@dailyegyptian.com
Tony McDaniel

  • Position: Sporters Reporter
  • Beats: Men’s Tennis, Women’s Softball
  • Hometown: Belleville, IL
  • Major: Journalism
  • Personal motto: “There are positives to be taken from any negative situation; you just need to look for them.”
  • Favorite news source: ESPN
  • Twitter handle: @TonyMcDanielDE
  • Email: tmcdaniel@dailyegyptian.com
Symone Woolridge

  • Position: Sports Reporter
  • Beats: Men’s and Women’s Cross Country, Women’s Tennis
  • Hometown: Beach Park, IL
  • Major: Radio and Television
  • Personal motto: “Ambition is everything.”
  • Favorite news source: Sports Center, ESPN, New York Times
  • Twitter handle:
  • Email: swoolridge@dailyegyptian.com

Pulse Desk

Jake Saunders

  • Position: Pulse Reporter
  • Beats: University Museum, Arts, and Entertainment
  • Hometown: Brighton, IL
  • Major:
  • Personal motto: “Motored clockwork rythmn.”
  • Favorite news source: Google
  • Twitter handle: @jfsaunders@dailyegyptian.com
  • Email: jsaunders@dailyegyptian.com
Kyle Sutton

  • Position: Campus Reporter
  • Beats: Dean of Students, Campus Budget / SIU Foundation, Graduate Student Union, USG, Hispanic Resource Center, Student Affairs, Library / John Dewey Center, Parking / Transportation, Physical Plant, College of Business, Architecture
  • Hometown: Peoria, IL
  • Major: Journalism
  • Personal motto: “Life should not be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside in a cloud of smoke, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming ‘Wow! What a ride!’” – Hunter S. Thompson
  • Favorite news source: CNN, ESPN
  • Twitter handle: @KyleSutton_DE
  • Email: ksutton@dailyegyptian.com

Photography Desk

Remy Abrought

  • Position: Photographer
  • Hometown: Kansas City, MO
  • Major: Photojournalism and English minor
  • Personal motto: “Go ahead, switch the style up! And if they hate then let’em hate and watch the money pile up!”
  • Favorite news source: Daily Egyptian
  • Twitter handle: @RemyAbrought_DE
  • Email: rabrought@dailyegyptian.com
Jake Haines

  • Position: Photographer
  • Hometown: Sumner, IL
  • Major: Cinema and Photography
  • Personal motto: “It is all one to me if a man from Sing Sing Prison or Hardvard. We hire a man, not his history.” – Henry Ford
  • Favorite news source: Daily Egyptian
  • Twitter handle: @JHainesAtTheDE
  • Email: jhaines@dailyegyptian.com
Lewis Marien

  • Position: Photgrapher
  • Hometown: Decatur, IL
  • Major: Photojournalism
  • Personal motto: “If you don’t love your work, you don’t love your life.” – Dr. Robert Hahn
  • Favorite news source: Denver Post
  • Twitter handle: @LewisMarien_DE
  • Email: lmarien@dailyegyptian.com
Robert Olson

  • Position: Photojournalist
  • Hometown: Barrington, IL
  • Major: Speech Communication and Political Science
  • Personal motto: “The secret to getting ahead is getting started.” – Mark Twain
  • Favorite news source: Drudge Report, Huffington Post
  • Twitter handle: @RobertOlsen_DE
  • Email: rolson@dailyegyptian.com

Design Desk

Nicholas Burke

  • Position: Designer
  • Hometown: McLeansboro, IL
  • Major: Advertising
  • Personal motto:
  • Favorite news source: Liveleak.com
  • Email: nburke@dailyegyptian.com
Sabrina Imundo

  • Position: Designer
  • Beats: Sugar and Spice for the College Life
  • Hometown: DeKalb, IL
  • Major: Communication Design
  • Favorite news source: ABC
  • Twitter handle: @SImundo23
  • Email: simundo@dailyegyptian.com
Alyssa Soler

  • Position: Designer
  • Hometown: Mt. Vernon, IL
  • Major: Communication Design
  • Personal motto: “Never give up.”
  • Favorite news source: BBC
  • Email: asoler@dailyegyptian.com
Briana Stodden

  • Position: Designer
  • Hometown:
  • Major:
  • Personal motto:
  • Favorite news source:
  • Email: bstodden@dailyegyptian.com

Copy Desk

Matt Daray

  • Position: Copy Editor
  • Hometown: Palatine, IL
  • Major: Journalism and Creative Writing
  • Personal motto: “I don’t know half of you half as well as I should like; and I like less than half of you half as well as you deserve.”
  • Favorite news source: CNN
  • Twitter handle: @M_D_Daray
  • Email: mdaray@dailyegyptian.com
Charles Katt

  • Position: Copy Editor
  • Hometown: Effingham, IL
  • Major: Criminal Justice
  • Personal motto: “New is always better!”
  • Favorite news source: The Daily Show
  • Email: ckatt@dailyegyptian.com

Web Desk

Alex Merchant

  • Position: Web Admin
  • Hometown: Effingham, IL
  • Major: Computer Science
  • Personal motto: “Da Bears!”
  • Favorite news source: Associated Press, CNN, Bill Maher, Wired
  • Email: amerchant@dailyegyptian.com

 

close
Facebook Iconfacebook like buttonYouTube IconSubscribe on YouTubeTwitter Icontwitter follow buttonOur InstagramOur Instagram
  Secured by Incapsula