15 minute saluki with: DeAnna Price

Freshman thrower DeAnna Price qualified to compete for the U.S. on the World Junior Team of the International Association of Athletes Federation. She qualified Saturday in the hammer throw with her second place throw at the Junior Outdoor Track and Field Championships. She was the only track and field member to qualify for the meet. Next, Price will compete in the World Championships in Barcelona, Spain July 10-15.

 

Daily Egyptian: How big of an honor is it to have a chance to represent your country on the World Junior Team?

DeAnna Price: It’s fantastic, I’m really excited about it… Hopefully I’ll be able to reach 15th to get into World’s and hopefully I’ll be able to knockout some of the other members to make it into the top nine and make the finals.

 

DE: What do you expect Spain to be like? Is this your first trip outside the US?

DP: I’ve been out of the country, like Mexico, but I don’t really count that. I’m actually kind of scared because I’ve never been on an airplane ride before. I heard they have a lot of protection to make sure that the athletes are secure and safe, so that really ensures me that everything will be okay.

 

DE: Do you think your softball background helped with your transition into throwing?

DP: Yes, definitely. I was first team all-state softball (in high school). I was the best hitter on the team and the hip action that comes with swinging is the same as throwing the hammer.  It has helped me become the athlete that I am today.

 

DE: When you’re not training, what do you like to do?

DP: I like to sing. I sing all the time. Sometimes my friends say it’s annoying, me breaking out into song.

 

DE: Who are some of your favorite singers?

DP: Carrie Underwood. I love Carrie Underwood; I love Brad Paisley. I like every type of genre out there. I like country and pop, but I would say my ultimate favorite is Carrie Underwood.

 

DE: Who’s in your iPod right now?

DP: Blink 182, Carly Rae Jepsen (Call Me Maybe), Beyonce and … Kelly Clarkson.

 

DE: What are your plans for the rest of the summer, outside of your throwing events?

DP: Just experiencing the college background, hanging out with my friends. And after throwing, I plan on taking a week to two weeks off and spending time with my family.

Print Friendly

About Akeem Glaspie

My name is Akeem Glaspie. I'm a senior Journalism major with a minor in Creative Writing. I was born in Orlando, Fla., and moved to Elgin, Ill when I was two. I'm a big sports fan who enjoys watching football, basketball and baseball. When I'm not watching sports I'm probably playing video games with friends.

  • Comments:
  • close
    Facebook Iconfacebook like buttonYouTube IconSubscribe on YouTubeTwitter Icontwitter follow buttonOur InstagramOur Instagram
      Secured by Incapsula